Our family watched the news conference last night, and I completely agree with Ed Morrissey…
What was the POINT??
“When a president calls a prime-time press conference, it traditionally means that the White House has some new strategy, message, or policy creation that they want to reveal with a big flourish. For at least the second time in a row, Barack Obama demanded valuable prime-time real estate and the nation’s attention in order to repeat the same lines he’s used for the last two months on health care. Obama failed to present a single new idea, proposal, or even argument that had not already been floated from Obama himself and the White House in the full-court press over the last 10 days in Obama’s media appearances.
Well, except for the new notion of predatory tonsillectomies. Let me tell you a story about tonsillectomies. My son could not get one for over four years because the HMO that covered him didn’t want to spend the money. Only when we transferred him to my insurance could we get a pediatrician who would do it (who happened to be his original pediatrician) — and who pronounced the other doctors as idiots for letting them go that long. Fortunately, I could choose insurance plans and doctors. The incentives are set up against tonsillectomies, not favoring them, mainly because a few experts decided a few decades ago that they were generally unnecessary.
In ObamaCare, those experts will be in charge of all doctors.
Howard Kurtz remarked on Twitter immediately after the conclusion that Obama once again failed to have a consistent and understandable message in the presser. It went farther than that, though; Obama not only failed to have a message, he also failed to answer most of the questions. He talked endlessly after being asked them, a strategy obviously designed to cut down on questions through filibustering, but he didn’t answer the questions.”
